Back to Top


[photo, Debra M. Davis, Maryland State Delegate]DEBRA M. DAVIS, Esq.
Democrat, District 28, Charles County


    House Office Building, Room 204
    6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 841-3337, (301) 858-3337
    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3337 (toll free)
    fax: (410) 841-3277, (301) 858-3277

Member of House of Delegates since January 9, 2019. Member, Judiciary Committee, 2019- (juvenile law subcommittee, 2019-20; public safety subcommittee, 2019-; criminal law & procedure subcommittee, 2021-); Chair, House Re-entry Work Group, 2021. Member, Work Group to Address Police Reform and Accountability in Maryland, 2020. Member, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, 2019- (chair, criminal justice subcommittee); Maryland Legislative Transit Caucus, 2019-; Women Legislators of Maryland, 2019-.

Member, Board of County Commissioners, Charles County, representing District 2, December 7, 2010 to December 3, 2018 (vice-president, Jan. 5, 2016 to Jan. 1, 2017). Member, Social Services Board, Charles County, 2010-15; Board of Health, Charles County, 2010-18.

Chair, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2016 (member, 2010-; 1st vice-chair, 2015; executive board, 2015-18, 2020-21).

Member, Police Accountability Task Force, Prince George's County, 1999. Member, Charles County Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board, 2009-10;

Born in Cheverly, Maryland, October 11, 1959. Attended Frederick Douglass High School, Croom, Maryland; University of Maryland, College Park, B.S. (criminology), 1981; University of Baltimore School of Law, J.D., 1994. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1995; District of Columbia Bar, 1996. Attorney. Member, American Bar Association; Maryland State Bar Association (board of governors, 2012-13; litigation law section; solo & small firm practice section); Charles County Bar Association; Prince George's County Bar Association (president, 2011-12); J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association (president, 2003-04); Salome A. Howard Bar Association, Charles County (charter member). Fellow, Maryland State Bar Association Leadership Academy, 1999. Career counselor, Henry E. Lackey High School, Indian Head, 2005-08. Leadership Southern Maryland, 2009. Fellow, Academy for Excellence in Local Governance, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland, College Park, 2012. Chair, Board of Trustees, Local Government Insurance Trust, 2015- (board of trustees, 2010-; claims committee, 2011-; chair, audit & finance committee, 2012-; secretary, executive board, 2013-). Member, Maryland County Officials Diversity Caucus, 2015-18, Maryland Association of Counties; Women in Government Leadership Program, Governing Institute, 2017. Charter member, Charles County Chapter, National Council of Negro Women. Member, African American Heritage Society; Charles County Chapter, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); Henry E. Lackey High School Boosters Club; Zonta Club of Charles County. President's Award, J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association, 2002. Foot Soldiers Award, NAACP, 2006. Legal Excellence Award, Prince George's County Bar Association, 2008. President's Award, J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association, 2009. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2012, 2014, 2016 (Circle of Excellence). Divorced; two daughters.


By Authority of Citizens For Debra Davis; Michelina Coates, Treasurer
Powered by - Political Websites
Close Menu